Don't Miss

  • Reading Charles Taylor's A Secular Age
    Long, four part piece that seeks to summarize main themes of Taylor's important 2007 book.
  • History and Meaning
    Big-picture post that frames my purposes for writing on this blog
  • Walker Percy's Postmodern Catholicism
    In the present age the survivor of theory and consumption becomes a wayfarer in the desert, like St. Anthony: which is to say, open to signs
  • Metaxis
    We are in-between beings whether we like it or not. We become substantive to the degree that we hold our opposite tendencies, especially the spirit vs. matter tension, in balance and to integrate them.
  • Shrewd as Serpents, Guileless as Doves
    Meditation on Steinbeck's 'East of Eden'
  • Latent Authoritarians
    Talks about the role of the principle of susidiarity in combating the top-downism of the right and the left.
  • The Hypertropied Eye
    Modernity and its eye centeredness created the conditions for the possibility of individualism and critical reflection, but it also led to the gradual disenchantment of the world which became reified.
  • Dying Traditions
    Living traditions survive in the U.S. only so long as they can resist acculturation into the larger modern American milieu. The economic pressures working to break down such subcultures are terrific.

About This Site

SiteMeter

« February 2014 | Main | April 2014 »

Monday, March 31, 2014

Sunday, March 30, 2014

Saturday, March 29, 2014

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Monday, March 24, 2014

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Sunday, March 16, 2014

Friday, March 14, 2014

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Monday, March 10, 2014